Home » Bookshop » Adult » A Thousand Ships : Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction

A Thousand Ships : Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction

by

£9.99

Paperback 368 pages
PAN MACMILLAN 27 May 2020
Haynes, Natalie

1 in stock

Product total
Options total
Grand total
ISBN/SKU: 9781509836215 Categories/Genres: ,

Description

Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction.

Powerfully told from an all-female perspective, in A Thousand Ships, classicist and author of Divine Might, Natalie Haynes retells the story of the Trojan War – putting the women, girls and goddesses at the centre of the story.

For fans of Madeline Miller’s The Song of Achilles and Pat Barker’s The Silence of the Girls.

‘With her trademark passion, wit, and fierce feminism, Natalie Haynes gives much-needed voice to the silenced women of the Trojan War’ – Madeline Miller, author of CirceThis was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . .

In the middle of the night, a woman wakes to find her beloved city engulfed in flames. Ten seemingly endless years of conflict between the Greeks and the Trojans are over. Troy has fallen.

From the Trojan women whose fates now lie in the hands of the Greeks, to the Amazon princess who fought Achilles on their behalf, to Penelope awaiting the return of Odysseus, to the three goddesses whose feud started it all, these are the stories of the women embroiled in the legendary war.

‘A gripping feminist masterpiece’ – Deborah Frances-White, The Guilty Feminist

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “A Thousand Ships : Shortlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *