Home » Bookshop » Children » The Case of the Chaos Monster: an Elemental Detectives Adventure

The Case of the Chaos Monster: an Elemental Detectives Adventure

by

£7.99

Paperback 432 pages
Scholastic 14 September 2023
Lawrence, Patrice

1 in stock

Product total
Options total
Grand total
ISBN/SKU: 9780702315633 Categories/Genres: ,

Description

A stunningly imagined, action-packed fantasy adventure

for fans of Nevermoor, Neverwhere and Mortal

Engines, from bestselling and award-winning author Patrice

Lawrence.

‘A beautifully written book, bristling with magic, set

in an ancient London filled with dragons, ghosts, water spirits,

and a mysterious, creeping sleeping-sickness that must be fought

by the brave young heroes. I loved it.’ Cressida Cowell,

Children’s Laureate & author of How to Train Your

Dragon.

Step into a London lit up by the Elemental spirits:

the fiery Dragons, the airy Fumis, the watery Chads and the

earthbound Magogs.

Marisee and Robert – the Elemental Detectives – are back

to solve another mystery on the streets of eighteenth century London.

An orchestra explodes in Vauxhall Pleasure Gardens and suddenly

the music of London disappears… and a terrifying monster

stirs off the Greenwich peninsular, threatening to trample

London underfoot. The detectives must track down the thief behind

the music’s disappearance – via the Whispering Gallery of St

Paul’s Cathedral, a Windmill-with-teeth on the Isle of Dogs and

the dark streets of Soho… where a shadowy villain and his mechanical

animal spies live.

Big, bold, future classic storytelling for a new generation.

A London where magic sparks just beneath the surface – this book

is set to ignite young imaginations.

The second book in a major new series.

MORE PRAISE FOR ELEMENTAL DETECTIVES

‘I loved reading about a re-imagining of London with so much invention

and energy. The world-building is well…out of this world.

Patrice Lawrence is amongst the greatest voices for young people

writing today. I’m honoured to be a peer of hers.’ –

Alex Wheatle, author of Cane Warriors

‘BRILLIANT… history and fantasy woven magnificently into a thrilling,

magical adventure’ – Sophie Anderson, author of

The House with the Chicken Legs

‘A fantastic adventure, packed with rich world building and stunning

elemental magic.’ – Peter Bunzl, author of Cogheart

‘Wow – The Elemental Detectives is a cracking fantasy. Clever,

inventive, and pacy, with wonderfully drawn characters and a breathless

plot. I want to read more!’ – Bali Rai, author of

Mohinder’s War

‘The Elemental Detectives is a rip roaring magical adventure…

Patrice Lawrence has done a marvellous job of building an imaginative

and creative mythology which lurks just under the city streets.’

Catherine Johnson, author of Freedom

‘The Elemental Detectives is a richly imagined, inventive and

immersive fantasy adventure.’ – L. Norry,

author of Son of the Circus

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “The Case of the Chaos Monster: an Elemental Detectives Adventure”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *